A Quick Trip Down Memory Lane

Dust off a quilt book blog hopSeveral years ago, an online quilters group I belong to got into a discussion about other activities we enjoy. Cooking, travel, writing and photography were mentioned quite often, but it turned out nearly all of us had two things in common – we have pets (mostly cats and/or dogs), and we are avid readers.  Most of us also had a sizable library of quilting books.

My own collection began with one of the few quilting books available when I made my first quilt in 1973, Ruby McKim’s 101 Patchwork Quilt Patterns. Rotary cutters hadn’t been invented yet, so every one of the 1755 (but who’s counting) 2.5″ squares in my 9-Patch quilt was traced with a pencil around a cardboard template and cut with scissors. Of course, the template’s edges got a bit “softer” with each tracing, so perfectly matching seams were a dream, not a realistic goal. It wouldn’t have won any prizes, but it kept me warm, and that was the point, and I was hooked.

Pellman - World of Amish Quilts

Soon after I began quilting, I discovered Amish quilts, and bought a couple of books about the quilts made in Pennsylvania. I’ve always loved bold graphic designs, and my father’s family is Mennonite, so it was probably a natural attraction.

One thing that struck me was that – contrary to the “rule” that Amish quilts must be mostly black or  dark and “cool” colors – most of the quilts in this book have very little black. And bright? There were some of the most over-the-top color combinations I had ever seen. I loved it! Colors that weren’t acceptable for clothing could be used in quilts.

Magnificent MinisHere, my “Dust off a Quilt Book” blog hop post segues into my “Magnificent Mini” challenge blog post for Island Batik fabric, Aurifil threads and Hobbs batting. They supplied the materials for this project.

I chose to make a miniature version of the Amish classic “Trip Around the World.”

IMG_2889I had quite a bit of fabric left over from my 2018 “stash” of Island Batik Fabrics, including this stack of 10″ squares from the Lavendula collection. I chose a navy blue from the “foundations” collection to go with it. I decided my center would be 9″ x 9″ (finished size), and the individual squares would be 1″ finished. My borders would finish 3″ wide.

IMG_2890

I needed five colors for the center of my quilt, so I chose five of the more “solid” color squares, and cut four 1.5″ x 10″ strips from each square.

 

 

Next, I had to make five strip sets, each with four strips, and rotating the colors properly. To help keep things in order, I cut a square from each of the scraps and numbered them. I laid out the squares in order for each stripset.

IMG_2900

Then I cut four 1.5″ segments from each stripset.

IMG_2909

I decided I wanted my largest diamond to be the lavender, so I set two of those strips aside, and began building two halves, working from the center strip out, adding matching strip to each side as I went.

IMG_2910

This rotation meant the center square would be white, so I cut a 1.5″ x 1.5″ square, and sewed it to the turquoise ends of the two remaining strip. This became the middle row of my centerpiece.

Now for the borders:

IMG_2891

I chose two matching purple and blue mottled squares for the border, and cut two 3.5″ x 9.5″ strips from each square. If I recall, I had a half yard of the navy blue. I cut two 2.25″ x 44″ strips for the binding, four 3.5″ squares for the corners and pieced a 16″ x 16″ square from the remainder for the backing.

IMG_2914

With the borders in place, it was time to layer this mini up with a bit of Hobbs Heirloom 80/20 batting and figure out how to quilt it.

IMG_2916

My collection of Aurifil threads is still pretty limited…but growing. These were my best choices for this project. I decided the white would be too stark, while the icy blue would show up, but not overpower the fabric.

IMG_2917

First, I decided to emphasize the squares in the center by quilting concentric squares. I used the inside edge of the toe of my 1/4″ foot to space my quilting lines about 1/8″ from my seam lines.

IMG_2945

I came up with this simple little Celtic style detail to dress up the corners just a bit.

Add a binding, and a title “Across the Pond”, and this little quilt celebrates the journey of two of my Quaker ancestors, Thomas Stackhouse and Grace Heaton, who arrived in Philadelphia aboard  The Lamb. In 2001, I got to spend a day in the towns of Settle and Giggleswick, Yorkshire, UK. It felt like a homecoming of sorts, to walk on  streets that they may have known centuries ago.

Across the Pond - Title

Thanks to Bea for thinking up and hosting the “Dust Off a Quilt Book” Blog Hop! I can’t wait to see what the other bloggers have found on their bookshelves. Many of them, like Bea and I, are also Island Batik Ambassadors!

Monday Feb 18th
Pamela at Pamelaquilts
Selina at Selinaquilts
Kathleen at Kathleenmcmusing
Tuesday Feb 19th
Jennifer at curlicuecreations
Kathy at Kathysquilts
 
Wednesday Feb 20th
Suzy at Websterquilt
Brenda at songbirddesigns
Denise at craftraditions
 
Thursday Feb 21st
Leanne at Devoted Quilter
Jennifer at Dizzyquilter
Lee Anne at Podunk Pretties
Lyndsey at Sew Many Yarns
 
Friday Feb 22nd
Bea at Beaquilter
Barbara at Bejweledquilts
Marian at seams to be sew

 

Categories: 10" Squares, Aurifil Threads, Hobbs Batting, Island Batik Ambassador, Island Batik Fabric, Miniatures, Uncategorized | 32 Comments

Post navigation

32 thoughts on “A Quick Trip Down Memory Lane

  1. Cindy Pieters

    A lovely trip around the world in those gorgeous batiks.

    Like

  2. very cute! love the fabric colors ♥♥

    Like

  3. Bea

    Cute quilt! I think I have that book too!

    Like

  4. I love your mini – trip quilt. And of course, I love the fabrics! Lavender, yellow and green are a combo I like to use.

    Like

  5. Great mini. Looks great in batiks. Like the celtic quilting in the corners too.

    Like

  6. Joan

    That is too cute and I love your border quilting. I’m going to have to keep that one in my idea bank! LOL!!

    Like

  7. Hello Anne ~ I love your sweet little quilt. The wide border sets it off so nicely. I enjoyed reading the story behind your quilt, too. Have a lovely day!

    Like

  8. Karrin Hurd

    Love your project!

    Like

  9. Batiks are perfect for a modern interpretation of Amish quilts. I’m intrigued by the religious history in your background: Mennonite and Quaker – generations apart, maybe, but interesting nevertheless. 🙂

    Like

    • The Quakers were on Mom’s side of the family. That particular branch of my family tree ended with my great grandmother, who was raised a Quaker, and married a Baptist.

      Like

  10. pamelaquilts

    I love your mini quilt! I suspect I have this book in my library as well – I love Amish style quilts.

    Like

  11. Angela J Short

    Very cool quilt! Amazing colors! Wonderful! Enjoy your day! 🙂 🙂

    Like

  12. This is really beautiful in those batiks!

    Like

  13. Quilting Tangent

    Pretty quilt and 2 projects in 1, good for you.

    Like

  14. Lori Smanski

    wow this turned out gorgeous. thanks for sharing

    Like

  15. Pretty mini quilt. I remember the days of cutting everything with scissors. I love my rotary cutter. Thanks for sharing in the hop … 🙂 Pat

    Like

  16. I love Celtic knots in the corners! Lovely mini.

    Like

  17. What a fun mini

    Like

  18. Great mini – and I love the stories. I grew up in Reading PA – near the Amish and have always loved quilts. My mother disliked the darkness which you mention. I love that you made this a two for one – I didn’t – what was I thinking???

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Carla

    A fantastic mini trip around the world. Love your quilting too.

    Like

  20. annalutzbrown

    Very very nice love the quilting idea..

    Like

  21. Lori M.

    Oh what a nice little quilt. Thank you for sharing great photos of how it came together.

    Like

  22. Beautifully done

    Like

  23. Nancy Myers

    This is such a pretty little quilt. One of my first quilts was a trip around the world for my sister’s wedding present. I remember using cardboard and pencil and scissors to cut the squares. One pattern called for ripping the strips (not the best of ideas).

    Like

  24. t

    Mini LOVE!! Those Celtic corners? Perfect addition to your quilt!

    Like

  25. Colette

    Beautiful. I was just thinking today I should do a trip around the world quilt.

    Like

  26. Across the Pond is just so cute!

    Like

  27. Wonderful colors, very pretty!

    Like

  28. Pingback: Dust Off A Book Blog Hop • Dizzy Quilter

  29. Beautifully done! Your colours are gorgeous and the Celtic knot quilting really does dress up the corners 🙂

    Like

  30. Hi Anne, what a great mini. Those colours are gorgeous!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.