Quiltmaker Magazine Rolls out “100 Blocks, Vol 13”

Vol13-COVER-200px

…and my block, “Wheel Around” is right there on the cover:

 

"Wheel Around" by Anne Wiens - 2016

“Wheel Around” by Anne Wiens – 2016

People who know me well will be surprised that I designed a paper-pieced block, because I have never been a fan of paper piecing. In fact, I used to flat-out hate it.

Then I took a class with Carolyn McCormick, who invented the Add-a-Quarter® tool. I had the original ruler in my toolbox for years, but come to find out, I had been using it incorrectly! So I don’t hate paper-piecing anymore. It’s still not my favorite piecing technique, but I don’t shy away from it when it’s the best option.

Last spring, Carolyn introduced a new Add-a-Quarter Plus®. The “Plus” is a beveled edge that eliminates the need to use a separate straight-edge to fold the paper before trimming. Follow the links for more information.

The Wheel Around block I submitted to Quiltmaker is made in four colors, but it can also be made in two-color and eight-color variations (I’m not counting the color in the center of the “wheel”.)

You will need four copies of the pattern page for each block.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Make one copy and measure for accuracy. The top and side seam lines (not the outside trim lines) should be 6″ long.

Note: The patterns in the magazine make a block that “spins” clockwise. If you prefer a block that spins counter-clockwise, use the mirror-image feature on your copier to flip the pattern before printing.

"Two color" Wheel layout.

“Two color” Wheel layout.

For the two-color wheel, I chose three shades of teal green. The lightest will go in the center. I made one copy of my pattern page and left it intact, then noted which pieces would be Dark, Medium, or Light teal. The unmarked pieces will be white. I made each of the four quarter units in the same colors.

2-color "Wheel Around" block

2-color “Wheel Around” block

The eight-color block is more complicated:

IMG_0081

For the 8-color block, I arranged the colors, then laid out four copies of the pattern and wrote the colors for each piece right on the pattern I used for piecing.

8-color "Wheel Around" block

8-color “Wheel Around” block

So there are three options for the block itself. I’d love to see what you do with it.You can email me at sweetgrassdesigns@yahoo.com or “Like” my page on Facebook to share your photos.

I have one project in the works, and a couple more on the drawing board.

I can’t show them to you now, but be watching for the Fall 2016 issue of Quilts from 100 Blocks!

Before you head back to the Quilty Pleasures blog to continue today’s tour, please leave a comment below. One lucky visitor will receive a free copy of 100 Blocks, Vol 13 from Quiltmaker Magazine, and I will throw in an Add-a-Quarter Plus® combo pack, containing the 6″ and 12″ tools!

Categories: 100 Blocks, Paper-Pieced Blocks, Quiltmaker Magazine | 145 Comments

Post navigation

145 thoughts on “Quiltmaker Magazine Rolls out “100 Blocks, Vol 13”

Comment navigation

  1. Very cute block…I can lots of color combination possibilities.

    Like

  2. JoyceLM

    Great block. I love foundation paper piecing. Thanks.

    Like

  3. Emily C

    I love the teal version. What a pretty shade.

    Like

  4. Nancy

    Congratulations on your block being selected. I’m learning to like paper piecing more and more.

    Like

  5. Darlene B

    What a fascinating block!

    Like

  6. Pamela R

    Lots of possibilities…fun! I would love the plus version of the ruler. I use my old one all the time.

    Like

  7. Annie

    I very much like your two-color teal block. And I’m glad you didn’t give up on paper piecing!

    Like

  8. usairdoll

    WoW! What a striking block! So neat! Congratulations on having your block included in Vol. 13.

    Thanks for a chance to win.

    usairdoll(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  9. Chris

    I like this block. I will have to give it a try. Maybe in blue and green.

    Like

  10. Cathryn H

    Like the block – reminds me of a card trick block – only circular. Thanks for sharing

    Like

  11. Very nice block. It’s different and unique. I just bought an add a quarter ruler at my LQS. They are hard to find. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  12. Lori Butler

    Your block is so cute. I’ve got to give paper piecing a try.

    Like

  13. kathy pfaltzgraff

    I hadn’t heard what Carolyn did to made the ruler “plus”. She’s a clever lady. And I have recently finished one of her feathered star blocks, so appreciate her work. And I like how you think, also, clever block. Thanks, Kathy in colo

    Like

  14. Judy

    You have come up with a very interesting block and I especially like the two color wheel.

    Like

  15. Great design and love the different colorways!

    Like

  16. Barbara Young

    I really like the 2 color wheel. I think that the other wheel might be fun with the colors of the rainbow and maybe white.

    Like

  17. kathy Leake

    Nice block! Congratulations and thanks for the opportunity to win a copy of the magazine.

    Like

  18. Michelle Taylor

    Your wheel around block is so neat! So many ways it could look with different colors!

    Like

  19. Amber Volk

    I like the two color version the best! Definitely going to try that.

    Like

  20. catskillquilter

    Congrats on your block! I love both colorways!

    Like

  21. It is a great block that you can make look different in a quilt. Those rulers are the best to use. Makes the job easier…

    Like

  22. Allison Evrard

    Love the block!

    Like

  23. Kathy h

    I love paper piecing so was glad to see your cute block. And I never thought of using the copiers’ reverse image before! Great tip for that.

    Like

  24. That is a neat block! I like it in both the two color variation and in the rainbow colors.

    Like

  25. Debbie P

    Cute block with lots of possibilities!! Thanks for showing the options!

    Like

  26. Jen B

    I love your block – especially the teal version.

    Like

  27. I am just learning to paper piece. I really like the teal version of your block.

    Like

  28. Karen in Breezy Point

    I have an aversion to PP also–maybe I need a class-LOL!

    Like

  29. What an awesome block. i am partial to just about anything with teal in it.

    tushay3 (at) yahoo (dot) com

    Like

  30. What a beautiful block

    Like

  31. Sue

    Neat looking block. I’d have to try the three color first to get the “hang” of it.

    Like

  32. debra moxley

    The most different quilt block I have seen. Looks complicated but might try it sometime.

    Like

  33. Your block makes me think of the old 45’s. Did I just date myself?

    Like

  34. Sandy W.

    What an intriguing block. It looks very complicated, but doable with paper piecing.

    Like

  35. Nancy Green

    A great looking and intriguing block!

    Like

  36. Cathy Wilson

    What a great block! I’m still on the fence about paper piecing but this block may change my mind!

    Like

  37. Reall enjoy paper piecing. Great square.

    Like

  38. Lisa E

    I love the movement in your block. Very nice!

    Like

  39. I’m curious about what this would look like when the blocks are joined together!

    Like

Comment navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

