The Company I Keep…

It would have killed me to do this when I was a teenager, but now that I’m middle-aged, with the first rays of “my golden years” beginning to peak over the horizon, I can admit it – My mother was right. A person is known by the company she keeps. Over the years, I have fallen in with a bunch of quilters, and fortunately, they are mostly wholesome, upright, God-fearing women who would never lead me astray. But there are a few…

Kathy, for instance. My BQB (Best Quilting Buddy) I blame my fabric stash that has grown so large my sewing room can’t hold it on Kathy. She drags me to the local quilt shop on Fat Quarter Fridays. Yes she does…she MAKES me go in there! If there’s a bolt of fabric I just absolutely love, she will not let me get just the quarter-yard that would make me perfectly happy. “Three yards” is her rule, “because you might want to use it for borders.” It’s her fault.

When I stand at the Pearly Gates and St. Peter quizzes me about the year I gave up buying fabric for Lent, I will point at Charlotte. I only went into that shop for one spool of white thread. I had it in my hand and was headed for the checkout, and there she was with a basketful of bolts “all at 40% off!” I will admit I yielded to temptation, but the truth is, I went on an absolute bender.

Then there’s Annette. If I mention a class anywhere within a 2-days drive, she buys the gas, I drive and we’re there. She usually finishes the projects, but I can’t hold that against her.

I blame my quilty friends for my closet full of unfinished projects. Yes, Mom, if all of my friends begin a new block-of-the-month or mystery quilt or guild challenge, I must jump off of that “cliff”, too.

So here I stand, surrounded by UFO’s and hoping two of my new online quilting buddies (OQB’s) will help me get my quilting life under control.

2014 Button

“Aunt Marti” is Marti Dyer-Allison. We “met” as members of Quiltmaker Magazine’s 2013 Scrap Squad. Marti produces 52 quilts a year. That’s right, one a week. Not quilt tops, either…finished quilts. I don’t know how anyone who keeps that pace could possibly have unfinished projects laying around, but it appears she does, so she’s hosting a year-long project to complete a dozen UFO’s in 2014. One each month. I wasn’t going to sign on, but honestly, I have at least a half-dozen quilts that just need binding. I think I can do this!

Click HERE if you’d to read Marti’s blog and learn more.

DaGMT 2014

Then there’s Beth Helfter of EvaPaige Quilt Designs, one of my fellow Quiltwoman.com designers. It’s probably a good thing that she and I live at almost opposite ends of the country, because if we hung out in person, we might well end up in custody somewhere. She’s that much fun. She’s also a member of the 2014 Quiltmaker Scrap Squad.

During the month of February, Beth hosts “Drop and Give Me Twenty”. By joining, you commit to spending 20 minutes of quality time with your sewing machine each and every day for the month. Again, I wasn’t going to jump off of this particular cliff, but then I looked at the stack of projects on my “to do” list, which is more like a must-be-done-we’re-on-a-deadline list. If I start them this week, they will technically be UFO’s on February 1st.

20 minutes a day? Piece of cake! Here’s my official pledge:

“I, Anne Wiens, am joining Quilting Hottie Haven’s third annual DaGMT event, and pledge to quilt for at least 20 minutes every day of the month of February, 2014. My stated reason for joining this challenge is to finish all of the projects on my you-must-finish-this-you’re-on-a-deadline list. In truth, I’m doing this because I can’t stand the idea of hundreds of quilters around the world having fun without me. Oh…and I think Beth Helfter is brilliant for coming up with this concept and inspiring me to join.”

Another good reason to join DAGMT – She’s awarding prizes, including a copy of The Thrifty Quilter, written by me.

Click HERE for Beth’s blog. (Fair warning: Drinking a beverage while reading it may lead to spit-takes.)

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

