Soup’s On!

Chicken Soup - Anne Wiens 2013

Chicken Soup – Anne Wiens 2013

Last month, Quiltmaker Magazine’s online editor, Diane Harris, asked me to write a couple of blog posts for the magazine’s “Quilty Pleasures“. She asked for a tutorial on Studio 180 Designs‘ “V Blocks” and “Split Rects” rotary cutting tools. She said they would send me a bundle of fat quarters for my trouble. The secret is out. I can be bought with fabric.

When the fabric arrived, there were two bundles, one from the Rooster Royale collection and one from Canvas, both by Quilting Treasures. I will admit that black, white and red is not my favorite color combination, and I decided if I didn’t use that fabric in a project for this series, I would probably never use it at all. Imagine my surprise, then, when the top was finished and I actually found myself thinking maybe I should redo my kitchen in black, white and red!

“Chicken Soup” was quilted by Nicole Brouillette, another member of Quiltmaker’s 2013 Scrap Squad, and a professional longarm quilter. Nicole did a wonderful job, and wrote a blog entry about how she chooses quilting designs for her clients.

Here are the links to theĀ  blog posts we did for Quiltmaker:

Part 1- “V-Blocks” Tutorial

Part 2- “Split Rects” Tutorial

Part 3- Chicken Soup “Recipe”

Part 4- Quilting “Chicken Soup”

Categories: Quiltmaker Magazine, Split Rects (Studio 180 Designs), Tutorials, V-Blocks (Studio 180 Designs), Wallhangings | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Proudly powered by WordPress Theme: Adventure Journal by Contexture International.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,271 other followers

